New Thing #17 – Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Another thing we have been talking about doing for years is going to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, 30 minutes from my hometown of Akron, OH.

For about the past two years, I’ve made almost monthly visits to my hometown to visit my mother, share her last day, attend a memorial service, and help siblings sort through her house.  In December, the four of us visit my siblings in Akron to celebrate my oldest son’s birthday and exchange Christmas gifts.  I want this holiday visit to not involve a hospital visit or house sorting so it is a perfect time to visit this museum on Lake Erie.

image

 

The I M Pei designed building is impressive, even on a typically gray dreary NE Ohio winter day.  As someone who enjoys music, I like learning the history and progression to the development of rock and roll.

What a trip down memory lane! It is great fun to see the clothing and artifacts of so many talented and famous people. They have memorabilia from many of my favorites – the Supremes (I think I remember those pretty peach dresses), Beatles, Cat Stevens, Fleetwood Mac, Eagles, Simon and Garfunkle, plus many more.  We spend several hours in the museum. A fun family outing although the parents probably enjoyed the visit more than the teenagers!

 

Leave a Reply

