New Thing #19 – Homemade Turkey Stock

Banks are not closed the day after Christmas (at least not in the United States) but I take a vacation and have a nice low key day.  Since I am hanging out at home for the day, I can try another new thing – making turkey stock from the carcass I froze after Thanksgiving dinner.

image

 

I follow a recipe found on the Splendid Table website and my extra large All Clad stock pot with the steamer insert works beautifully.  I add onion, celery, carrots, and various fresh herbs remaining in the refrigerator.  This all gets covered with water and simmered for about 6 hours.  The kitchen becomes very aromatic as the day wears on.

image

 

Now I have several containers of turkey stock in my freezer.  I make soup weekly so I will reach for this stash over the next month.  The first taste test will be tomorrow when I make paella in the slow cooker for our Christmas celebration with my husband’s family.  (And my brother from OH who surprised me with a visit for the weekend!)

 

Leave a Reply

