New Thing #23 – Poached Eggs

My favorite way to eat eggs is poached.  I have a Caphalon egg poacher which makes them easily in perfect circles but know that the real way to poach eggs is to drop them in boiling water.  This “real” method seems so daunting, however.

Today I am home for President’s Day and making breakfast only for myself so it is the perfect day to experiment.  Using the recipe from Alton Brown on the Food Network, I heat an inch of water in a saucepan and add salt and white vinegar.  I create a whirlpool in the water, drop the cracked egg in the center, put the lid on, and set a timer for 5 minutes.

The egg is perfect!  The texture is creamy, not chewy and the yolk is perfectly soft.  Now why was that so daunting??

image

Leave a Reply

