Beer Braised Beef and Parsnips

I love soup and the slow cooker is a life saver so when the first chill of fall is in the air, who can resist a new healthy recipe for a stew in the slow cooker?

The new ingredient for me in this recipe is the parsnips.  I know what family they are in so I know where to start looking in the grocery store, but I honestly did not knrow exactly what I was looking for.  image

This recipe came together easily once everything was cut up and inserted in the slow cooker.  The recipe comes from Every Day with Rachael Ray.

http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipe/beer-braised-beef-and-parsnips/

Bacon, onion, brown sugar, allspice, thyme, bay leaves and mustard go in the slow cooker with beef stew meat and the parsnips.  Add a 12 ounce bottle of dark beer and cook on low about 6 hours until the parsnips are tender.

image

I recommend the recipe although I disagree with the serving size if this stew is your dinner.  I live with big eaters and could only have a tiny serving in order to feed two more people.  We could not have fed 4 people with this recipe unless it was part of a larger meal.  My son asked for the recipe to be put in a book I am making for him so that means the recipe is a winner!

image

Leave a Reply

