Chocolate Peppermint Ice Cream

Three of my “New Things” during my 50th year involved ice cream:

  • A stop at Jeni’s ice cream on our way from Akron, OH to Indianapolis
  • Purchasing Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home book during my Sister Trip in Columbus, OH
  • Buying an ice cream maker and making homemade ice cream

I’ve been experimenting with my ice cream maker so while this is not a healthy recipe, it includes a new ingredient for me – peppermint essential oil.  (Working with essential oils was also a “New Thing”.)

The staff person at our local health food store told me the peppermint essential oil can be ingested but the flavor is too strong to cook with.  I insisted on buying essestial oil rather than an extract since that’s what the recipe calls for.  If you read Jeni’s book, she swears by quality ingredients.  

Here’s the chocolate syrup made with Ghiradelli dark chocolate.  

  
Here is the cooked milk before adding the chocolate ice cream base.

  

Then you combine the mixtures and cool in an ice bath for about 30 minutes.

  

The peppermint essential oil is added in drops through the opening in the top of the ice cream machine while the ice cream is spinning.  I didn’t find the peppermint flavor to be overpowering with the essential oil.

  

Then you enjoy the ice cream – YUM! 

Leave a Reply

