McClure’s Apple Orchard

For years I have driven by McClure’s Apple Orchard on business trips from Indianapolis to South Bend.  In the spirit of trying new things, I take the time to stop on my way home from a conference in early October. 

 

I spend my time shopping in the Apple Barn rather than visiting the cafe.  

  
I buy a few white gourds for my fall decorating.  There are lots of yummy food items – I buy apple butter and syrup and salsa.  I’ve heard about their apple dumplings, a baked apple covered in pastry, so I buy one for the three of us to share at home.  Delicious!

There are lots of apples for sale from the orchard but I will be out of town the next few weeks and don’t have time to cook or bake with the apples.  Maybe next time.

  
This is definitely a recommended stop if you are driving through Peru, Indiana.

  

Leave a Reply

