Overnight Fruit and Flax Quinoa Hot Cereal

I love oatmeal and hot cereal for breakfast so I am intrigued to use quinoa in a hot cereal.  I’ve eaten dishes with quinoa in restaurants but have not cooked with it so this is a new thing for me.  The aspect of making the recipe the night before is also appealing for a working mom who gets a teenager off to high school in the morning.

This recipe is from an insert in Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine.  You combine almond milk (I used soy), 1/2 sliced banana, quinoa, flaxseed, cinnamon and 2 Tablespoons water in a saucepan and cook about 10 minutes.  Use transfer the cooked mixture to a microwave safe bowl and cover it to refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, microwave the cereal for about 2 minutes and top with dried fruit and slivered almonds.  (I couldn’t pass up fresh raspberries instead of dried fruit.)

  
I don’t like quinoa as much as oatmeal but enjoy this cereal as a change of pace.  Now I want to explore more recipes with quinoa.  

  

One thought on “Overnight Fruit and Flax Quinoa Hot Cereal

Leave a Reply

