Farro Chickpea Salad with Sunflower Seeds (and Miso Paste take #2)

My next healthy new ingredient to try is farro. I originally saw the recipe on The Splendid Table and that prompted an Internet search for other variations. The recipe that I made is a combination of The Splendid Table’s recipe and recipes on Big Oven.  I used ingredients that I had on hand and adjusted the measurements to feed one person.

  
I tossed the cooked farro with canned chickpeas, sunflower seeds, green olives, parsley and finished with homemade oil and vinegar dressing. I would have added grape tomatoes if I had them on hand. 

  
This salad is yummy!  In an earlier post, I made a barley salad and I prefer the farro. I’m not exactly sure why I liked farro more, perhaps because it seemed a bit sweeter and had texture more like rice, which I love.  

  
This is a healthy lunch on a day I took off from work to make Christmas cookies.  As my second son said when he was younger, you have to taste them before serving to make sure they are not poisonous!

  

Miso Paste – take 2

After making dark chocolate brownies with miso paste, I have some left over ingredients.  I adapted a recipe from Big Oven and combined the miso paste with brown sugar, wine vinegar, sesame oil and grated ginger and smeared it on some Sockeye salmon. 

  
I baked at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes and finished under the broiler.  Great flavors!!

  

Leave a Reply

