Shortcut Dumpling Soup

I’ve been looking for a recipe with edamame to make as one of my “new things”.  The entire family loves soup so this recipe from Midwest Living magazine caught my eye. 

Here is the list of ingredients:

4 green onions, white and green parts separated

1 Tablespoon finely chopped fresh ginger

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 Tablespoon canola oil

1 32 ounce carton chicken broth

1 cup water

1 to 2 Tablespoons Asian chili-garlic sauce

2 9.5 oz. packages frozen potstickers

1/2 cup frozen edamame

2 cups shredded red cabbage

2 teaspoons sesame seeds

2 Tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  

You cook the white part of the green onions in oil along with the ginger and garlic.  Then you add the broth and water and bring to a boil.  I added sriracha since I didn’t want to buy Asian chili-garlic sauce.  I couldn’t get red cabbage at the store so I did not use that but it would have been added next. Then I added the edamame and the potstickers to boil for about 5 minutes.

  

We enjoyed a delicious and simple lunch. The next time I make it, I will also buy some red cabbage as it would have been visually appealing.
   

There’s a theme in my blog posts that I don’t always follow the recipe exactly and sometimes substitute things that I have on hand.  I hope you also use some flexibility in your cooking to eat what you like and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Shortcut Dumpling Soup

Leave a Reply

