Buttermilk Cornbread

My next “new thing” originated when I decided to share with my company wellness plan health coach that I have a goal to cook with new ingredients. She sent me a link to a Food and Wine article on 10 healthy ingredients.  I’ve tried most of the ingredients listed in the article (salmon, squash, turkey, edamame, quinoa, mango, beef, and chickpeas), however, one item on the list surprised me – buttermilk.  According to the article, buttermilk has only 2 grams of fat per cup and is an excellent source of calcium, potassium, vitamin B-12 and riboflavin.

A suggested recipe to try is buttermilk cornbread.  The recipe is easy to make with baking ingredients that are pantry staples. I just had to buy buttermilk. 

Here is the link to the Food and Wine recipe:

Food and Wine Buttermilk Cornbread
  

Basically, you mix the dry ingredients separately from the liquid ingredients and combine the two.  The trick is to melt the butter in the pan while the oven is preheating. One warning – when I had the ingredients mixed and pulled the pan out of the oven, the butter was burnt and I had to start over.  Keep an eye on the pan in the oven while mixing your ingredients!

  

Having the melted butter in the pan gives the cornbread a nice crust when it’s finished baking. 

  

  

This recipe produces a very moist cornbread.  I don’t like cornbread that completely disintegrates into crumbs when touched.  

Very yummy – enjoy!  Now I will experiment with the remaining buttermilk and substitute it for higher fat liquids in other recipes.  

And if you are counting and wondering about Food and Wine’s 10th healthy ingredient, it’s bok choy.  Maybe that ingredient will be the subject of a future post…

  

Leave a Reply

