Lamb with Summer Couscous

My next “New Thing”, a recipe adapted from A Change of Appetite may also include a new ingredient for me.  I’m not sure I’ve cooked lamb before. 

First I marinate the lamb in olive oil, lemon juice and oregano.  


Then I cook the lamb in an indoor grill pan while making the couscous as a side dish.  The cookbook’s term is fregola which I buy as Israeli couscous.  Once the couscous is cooked, you add olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  This is combined with sautéed shallots, quartered cherry tomatoes and torn basil leaves.  


The lamb cuts available to me in Indiana are very thick chops rather than cutlets and take a while to cook so this turns out not to be a quick weeknight option like I thought it would be when reading the recipe. If I make it again, I would use the outdoor grill rather than a grill pan.  Still – this is delicious once everything is cooked!  

Leave a Reply

