Spiced pork chops

My next “New Thing” is inspired by Diana Henry’s recipe for Spiced Pork Chops with Ginger and Mango Relish except I only make the pork chops and serve them with fresh mango.

The marinade is simple:

2 Tablespoons peanut oil

Juice of 3 limes

2 red chiles, seeded and chopped (I used dried flakes)

2 garlic cloves, crushed

3/4 inch piece of ginger root, peeled and grated

I marinated the chops in the refrigerator while I went to Pilates class and came home to cook them for an easy weeknight supper.  I quickly seared them in a skillet, then finished them in a 400 degree oven while making the glaze in the skillet with the remaining marinade.  

The marinade cooks into a glaze that is delicious on the chops.  I served with coconut milk rice pilaf (a previous post of a “new thing”) although you can’t see it in the picture!

I didn’t use any new ingredients – just a delicious recipe using ingredients you probably have in your pantry.  

Leave a Reply

